Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the forum. I need some Advice

Good day wise fermentation gurus of the forum,

I'm new to the game and I would like some advice.

Currently I have a acquired the following at National Food Products:
    1 x 5l carboy with airlock
    1 packet of Bulldog brews Mead High alcohol yeast and nutrient.
    and 2kg of locally sourced honey

The recipe and instructions I plan to follow is:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ildRSUSWmc8

I need some advice about sanitisation
    I know there is some awesome products out there (starsan, iodine-based sanitizers, sodium metabisulfite,etc),
    but I have acquired some granulated chlorine that is used for sanitisation in the food and beverage industry (I bought it from a local commercial supplier).
    The product is called Industro Clear... google did not help me much, but on the packet it specifies that it produces around 250 ppm chlorine in 9 litre of water. I believe it is just Sodium Hypochlorite powder.
    Can I use this to sanitise my equipment??
    Other sources suggest that I can use it on glass but not on plastic.

Originally posted by PieterB View Post
    Good day wise fermentation gurus of the forum,..

Not because I feel I have been called upon, but because the gurus aren't answering...

Either way you swing it, its essentially bleach/ chlorine. From what I understand this is not really favoured because its not very fermentation/ yeast friendly and needs to be cleaned off very well afterward, which then introduces an infection risk.. The win about no rinse sanitisers is that anywhere you are concerned about infection risk throughout the process, you can just spray a few squirts without worrying about rinsing. Thats not to say some people dont use bleach and swear by it. I dont know about the plastic but suspect it varies per plastic type anyway.
    Cheers,
    Lang
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~