Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pineapple beer/Ginger beer...

Hi Guys
    This is my first post and I already have questions.

I am a complete newbie and have done 2 very nice brews of Ginger-beer. I am now in the process of brewing a Pineapple beer.

Questions:
    • My second batch of Ginger beer gave me and my wife heartburn and made our arms lame if we drank too much (2 glasses or more). Other than that it came out great (5.2% ABV)! Why would we be getting these kind of symptoms?
    • The Pineapple beer I am making is weird! It started at 1.050 (started on Saturday) and when I checked it last night it was on 1.050!!! (4 days later!) What is up with that! How is it possible that the gravity is constant? Is it possible the sugars in the pineapple chunks is still being released? Other than that, it tastes great!

beer 1.JPG
    kind regards
    cyber7 (aka Aubrey, Durbanville)

ps - I use a water-dispensing bottle as a carboy. A HUGE salt-grinder/pipe/little-bottle as an air-trap, glued on a stopper (for those who asks "what is THAT???")

cyber7
    Last edited by cyber7; 14 February 2019, 09:14.

perhaps if you share the recipe for the ginger beer it might help with revealing the cause, did you use fresh ginger?

what yeast did you use on the pineapple beer?

Comment

Ginger beer:
      I used City Steading's recipe from Yoiutube and Bread Machine Yeast. The Ginger was grated, boiled and strained. (Fresh, about 400-500g) - see here: https://aubreykloppers.wordpress.com...e-beer-recipe/

Now, onto Pineapple Beer:
      It is bubbling away and I did not crush the pineapple, just cut it...

• 18l water.
      • 2 small pineapples chopped into pieces removing some of the core adding it to my carboy.
      • 18 cups of sugar (one cup per liter) dissolved in 4l water adding it to my carboy with the rest of the water.