Mexican Cerveza (fourth brew) help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mexican Cerveza (fourth brew) help needed

Hi Everyone this is my first time posting here. Me and my dad brew together, we're still beginners and know nowhere near as much as we'd like about brewing. I'd like to ask if anyone can give us a few tips for our next project.

We got a kit of Mangrove Jack's Mexican Cerveza malt as a gift, so that's what we're going to brew next.
    We're going to use the provided kit yeast.
    A 1kg lager brew blend we bought from a local craft beer shop
    50g of SAAZ hop pellets with an AA of 3.4%

We're also going to add steeped grains, it's a mixture of 500g Carahell light crystal grain and 100g of Carapils (dextrin) malt.
    The temperature we're going to try and keep low (shouldn't be to much of a problem this time of year) somewhere between 17°C and 20° ?

If anyone has thoughts on what we could change up for a better end result or if someone has brewed this kit and would like to give their thoughts on it, that would really be appreciated. Thank you.
    Franz
    Last edited by Franz; 28 June 2019, 10:40.

I don't know much about kit brewing, but from what I can tell, get fresh yeast. I've seen many posts where the included yeast is a dud

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Comment

Yeah fresh yeast is a must. Those kit yeasts work (and probably will still work now), but proper style-specific yeast is a lot better. If you can't ferment cool, get the Mangrove Jack's M54 Californian Lager Yeast. You can ferment it warmer in a lager without off flavours.

Comment

Just in terms of process what's your plan? Are you making a hop tea and dumping it into the fermenter with the tins contents? How are you adding the grains? No need for a mash with those grains since they won't do much starch conversion, how are you integrating them?
        Lastly 50g hops? Why add any the MJ already has 10ibu what are you aming to create btw?