Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dumping wort on to yeast cake

Hi everyone.
    I have a really dumb question here, but I have been brewing for 8 years now and I have never just dumped wort onto a yeast cake in the fermenter. I have always been more concerned about getting the fermenter 100% clean and sanitized for the next batch.
    My question relates to the muck left on the sides of the fermenter from the previous brew's krauzen. Do you at least clean this off before adding the new wort or do you leave it there?
    Like I said, it could be a silly question, but if I am going to try this I need to be sure.
    Cheers [emoji482]

Sent from my S60 using Tapatalk

Originally posted by Johan Stander View Post
    Hi everyone.
    I have a really dumb question here, but I have been brewing for 8 years now and I have never just dumped wort onto a yeast cake in the fermenter. I have always been more concerned about getting the fermenter 100% clean and sanitized for the next batch.
    My question relates to the muck left on the sides of the fermenter from the previous brew's krauzen. Do you at least clean this off before adding the new wort or do you leave it there?
    Like I said, it could be a silly question, but if I am going to try this I need to be sure.
    Cheers [emoji482]

I wipe off the krauzen ring. Otherwise I just dump directly onto the yeast cake. To clarify, it happens soon after bottling - within an hour or so. The massive yeast colony should take care of any minor infections that might pop in from the air.

Comment

I do exactly as per Toxxyc method. I have used the same yeast cake for a maximum of five times. More than this and there is no head-space in my fermenter!

Comment

Thanks guys. Appreciate it.

Comment