Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Next brew: Pilsner

Hey guys,

So I want to try my hand at a pilsner. A nice, smooth, crisp and refreshing pilsner. With noble hops and the works. However, a question. Can I sub out the large noble hop additions at the start of the boil for something else that's good at bittering? I don't want to end up using 150g of 3.5% hops in a single batch when I can use a cheap bittering hop at 60 and then simply add the noble hops later in the boil. Would that work, or be possible, and if so, how would I approach this? Where in the boil do we stop adding for bittering and when should I add for maximum flavour and aroma?

My plan was, instead of adding like ~110g of some fancy Saaz hop right at 60 mins, to add around 15g or so of Magnum right at 60 for around 30 IBUs, and then just add Saaz at the end for aroma and flavour, around 20g or so? No idea how it'll work. I've never worked with these fancy hops before, so any advice would be GREAT.

PS my current recipe I'm planning looks like 4.5kg Pilsner malt, mashed at around 66°C for high fermentability, fermented with SafLager S-189. I'm hoping for a 1.045 OG for a 4.5% ABV Pilsner at around 35 IBUs at the end.

That could work yes ... I would do the same.

±4.5Kg Pilsner
    ±200g of some sort of Caramalt
    ±21g magnum @ 60min to get your 30 IBU
    ±14g Saaz @ 10min
    ±14g Saaz @ 5min tom get to 35 IBU

I would even mash lower ... say ±64șC
    The Problem With The World Is That Everyone Is A Few Drinks Behind.!

Comment

Originally posted by JIGSAW View Post
      That could work yes ... I would do the same.

±4.5Kg Pilsner
      ±200g of some sort of Caramalt
      ±21g magnum @ 60min to get your 30 IBU
      ±14g Saaz @ 10min
      ±14g Saaz @ 5min tom get to 35 IBU

I would even mash lower ... say ±64șC